Connections…

Yesterday morning, I decided to enter the National Sculpture Prize at Broomhill Sculpture Park in Devon.  I’d registered my details and received an application form by lunchtime and was a little dismayed to find that it had to be a totally new piece.  I was hoping to use an existing piece as a maquette.

Well, the lovely Mr D is up for work super early in the morning so he went to bed a couple of hours ago and true to form, I had a little idea.  You see, a part of me wanted to do something that was relevant today but that was also relevant to Devon.

I started to do some research and much to my surprise, I was spot on!

Anyhoo, I remembered a particular sculpture by Angela Jarman that would be particularly inspirational and decided to go looking for it.  Typing her name into Google images, I found a photo of me!  I followed the link and found several more photos of when it was kiln ready on a blog.  I was delighted because the wax hadn’t completely steamed out of the key piece when we finished for the weekend and KT, Catherine and Helga at The Glass Hub

had told me to go home and promised to finish the steaming and do the water displacement on my final piece (I’d done the other 2).

I’m liking this blogging malarkey already 🙂

This became the Molecular Ice piece

This became the Molecular Ice piece

Front and slightly off centre to the right is the Molecular Ice piece ready to be fired.

Front and slightly off centre to the right is the Molecular Ice piece ready to be fired.

This became the beautiful copper blue face.

This became the beautiful copper blue face.

Front left is the copper blue face.

Front left is the copper blue face.

Me

I never got to see this!  Three days of hard slog went into this and it is beautiful.

I never got to see this! Three days of hard slog went into this and it is beautiful.

One thought on “Connections…

Leave a Reply

