Apologies…

…for another cycling post so soon after my last.

I begged Mr PinQ to take the car to work on New Year’s Eve.  It was so cold when he got up and I didn’t want him frozen and having to work 12 hours to get frozen again coming home.  In the afternoon, I realised that it wouldn’t hurt to nip into work myself and catch up whilst it was quiet.  It was later, sunny and relatively mild so I rather enjoyed the ride in.  Coming home was a different story, the wind was up and cycling along the sea front was quite the new experience.  Bracing isn’t the word.

Despite this, whilst Mr PinQ visited the Mater in Kent on New Year’s Day, I thought that a few more hours would see me in a much better position to achieve my resolution of not working more than 50 hours per week in 2015 and cycled in.  The wind was behind me and it was dry so I was quite content.  Then of course, I had to come home.  It was a battle all the way as the wind was now up to 80kph and I wasn’t looking forward to the sea front but I was taking a moment to enjoy the cycle path that I was on.  I had just left the road so couldn’t be blown into the path of a passing car and it was quiet because no-one in their right minds would be out in such weather.

Did I forget to mention that I am as mad as a box of frogs?

Anyway, as I approached the end of the cycle path, I looked at the road ahead.  I had to get across the road and turn right and the visibility, although it was dark, is superb along that cycle path.  My position is illustrated by the blue circle and my path by the yellow dashed line in Cycle 1, below (if it works!).  There are chicken wire fences around the fields so the only thing stopping 360 degree visibility is my human form, in the guise of an owl, the view would be complete.  So, I looked to the left and saw flashing blue lights, looked to the right and saw a car stop at the roundabout (represented by the red rectangle).  Now, I am not at my fittest but I have always had very powerful legs and a strength of character (stubborn streak) a mile wide that could be my Polish blood or Lancashire upbringing – I’ve never been sure which – but I am no fool.  I knew that I had plenty of time to get across that road.

Cycle 1

Imagine my surprise when said car suddenly accelerated.  The surprise quickly turned to horror when he then crossed over the white line for a game of chicken as shown in the diagram below:

Cycle 2

I’m so glad that I have cycled a lot since getting Pashley because I had the confidence to not only stay on the road but to also remain upright.  My only regret is that he didn’t stop.  I would have put Pashley through his windscreen and my foot through his face.

Leave a Reply

