New do

I had made up my mind.  I wanted to go Marylin.

I’ve only had my hair coloured a couple of times in my life but the lack of sea and sun, coupled with getting older had left my hair looking a little dull.  A couple of years ago, after a cut, I had noticed a lot of greys and when I mentioned it to Mr PinQ, he said, “Yes, I noticed them when you came out of the hairdressers.”  If that wasn’t enough, my hairdresser kept suggesting that I book in for a colour!

So, H____ and I cycled to the hairdressers and I had a chat about what I wanted.  I even found a photo of my prefect “do”, a bit of a modern take on Marylin’s platinum tresses.  The Colourist said that she would streak it rather than do a block colour, “to make it more ash than white”.  I was horrified, that was the opposite of what I wanted.  Anyhoo, toner was applied to my head for a patch test and off I went.

The day of the appointment came and I went to the salon all excited.

Pre-Do:

20150410-Old Hair

The Colourist saw the little bit of sun-bleaching on the ends of my hair and decided to match that.  As soon as it was rinsed out and I was sat in front of the mirror, I knew that it wasn’t right.  My hairdresser started to cut and all I wanted to do was cry.  By the time she started to dry it, the Colourist came over to ask why I wasn’t happy.

I’m getting used to it now, it’s a lot brighter than it was and I keep being told that it suits me.

Deep down, I know that it would look exactly like this if I was a surfer chick.

20150410-New Hair (1)

Leave a Reply

